Join the Asian American Journalists Association-Los Angeles at Far Bar, 347 E. First St. in Little Tokyo, on Wednesday, Jan. 23, at 7 p.m. for the chapter’s first event of the year.

Attendees will be provided with free appetizers and raffle tickets for a prize drawing at the end of the night. Come meet the 2013 AAJA-LA Board of Directors, and network with esteemed journalists from across Southern California. Hear about this year’s calendar of events, including AAJA-LA’s signature V3 Digital Media Conference, Trivia Bowl, and the AAJA National Convention in New York City.

For all current AAJA-LA members and people who join or renew the night of the event, the event is free with advance RSVP (until Jan. 23 at 5 p.m.), $5 at the door. For sister organization members (National Association of Black Journalists, National Association of Hispanic Journalists, Native American Journalists Association, National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association), $5 in advance, $10 at the door. For non-affiliated guests, $10 in advance, $15 at the door. Must be 21 or over.


Suggested parking: Aiso Street Parking Garage, 101 N. Judge John Aiso St. $3 flat rate after 5 p.m. Venue is public transportation/Metro-friendly.

For more information on the chapter, visit For information on the national organization, visit

AAJA-LA Board of Directors

2013 President: Richard Chang, Orange County Register

2013 VP of Broadcast: David Ono, ABC7

2013 VP of Print: Henry Fuhrmann, Los Angeles Times

2013 VP of Online Media: Jennifer de la Fuente, formerly of Sacramento Bee

2013 Secretary: Naomi Hayase, The Nikkei

2013-14 Treasurer: Shawn Wong, independent film producer

2013 Board Members: Kim Bui, Southern California Public Radio; Susan Hirasuna, KTTV FOX 11; Mariecar Mendoza, Los Angeles Daily News; Denise L. Poon, broadcast producer/multimedia consultant; Matt Stevens, Los Angeles Times

2013-14 Board Members: Frank Buckley, KTLA; Denise Dador, ABC7; Anh Do, Los Angeles Times; Suzanne Joe Kai, StudioLA.TV/

2012-13 National Advisory Board Representative: Jocelyn “Joz” Wang, past chapter president

2013 Student Representative (appointed): Sonali Kohli, Daily Bruin (UCLA)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *