EVANSTON, Ill. — National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) on May 27 announced approximately 2,200 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2015 competition to approximately 4,100.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners announced Wednesday are part of the distinguished group of about 7,600 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth approximately $34 million. Earlier this sprint, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2,500 Scholarships.

For more information, visit www.nationalmerit.org.

Among the latest recipients is Alyssa L. Yoshitake of San Diego, a student at Scripps Ranch High School in San Diego. Probable career field: music. She will receive the National Merit University of Cincinnati Scholarship.

The University of Cincinnati consists of over 10 undergraduate colleges and divisions, plus the Colleges of Law and Medicine and the Division of Graduate Studies. The student body represents all 50 states and more than 60 foreign countries. Cooperative education, in which students alternate periods of study and work experience, was originated at the university in 1906 and is offered in six of the university’s colleges.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *