The San Fernando Valley Japanese Community Center Coordinating Council held its year-end meeting on Dec. 4. Highlighting the meeting was a ceremony honoring volunteers who gave of their time in the service of the council’s organizations. Those honored were individually introduced and given certificates of recognition. First row, from left: Karen Muranaka, Ann Ahn, Nancy Gohata, Mitzi Kushida, Mieko Akima, Janet Yamamoto, Liz Doomey, Nancy Hayata, June Kageyama, Joy Longworth, Nancy Takayama. Second row: Nancy Oda, Jean Taguchi, Denise Tanaka, Margaret Takimoto, Tommy Uyeda, Aaron Sanwo, Sensei Richie Endow. Third row: Ralph Ahn, Ray Kawamoto, Kiyoshige Watanabe, Toji Hashimoto, Harris Yoneyama, Eric Hirota, Ken Kageyama, Kenji Couey. Missing: Kay Oda and Danny Okazaki.

Nancy Oda, president of the Tuna Canyon Detention Station Coalition, introduced Nancy Teramura Hayata and presented her with a certificate of recognition for her many hours of work on behalf of the Tuna Canyon Detention Station Coalition. Also attending the evening’s ceremony was Hayata’s proud mother, Flora Teramura.

Photos by MARIO GERSHOM REYES/Rafu Shimpo

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *