Rafu Staff Report

The 65th Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards, presented by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, were held Aug. 3 at the academy’s Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre in North Hollywood.

David Ono (Rafu Shimpo photo)

Among the multiple winners was KABC-TV (ABC7) reporter/anchor David Ono, who was recognized in the following categories, accounting for three of his station’s seven awards:

• Outstanding Writer — Programming. Also nominated were Bruce Beffa of Prime Ticket and Enrique Gutierrez of Time Warner Cable Deportes. This award is for specials and documentaries that did not air within a newscast.

• Outstanding Feature News Reporting (producer/reporter). Also nominated were Pat Harvey (reporter) and Mansan Luc (producer) of CBS2/KCAL9, Dave Malkoff (reporter) for KTLA5, and Norma Roque (reporter) for KMEX. This award is for the reporter or producer’s overall body of work.

• Outstanding Hard News Reporting (producer/reporter). The award was shared with Ana Garcia (reporter) and Robbi Peele (producer) of NBC4. Also nominated were David Goldstein (reporter) of CBS2/KCAL9, Joel Grover (reporter) and Chris Henao (producer) of NBC4, and Antonio R. Valverde (reporter) of KMEX. This award is for the reporter or producer’s overall body of work.

Ono was also nominated in the following categories:

• Serious News Story-Multi-part Report for “Japan: One Year Later” (a follow-up on survivors of the 2011 tsunami) as producer and reporter with cameraman, editor and producer Jeff MacIntyre. The award went to Ana Cecilia Bautista (producer) and Leon Krauze (reporter) of KMEX for “Madres Deportadas.” Also nominated were teams from CBS2/KCAL9 for “The Brian Banks Story,” NBC4 for “LAFD 911 Response Times,” CBS2 for “Odometer Fraud,” and NBC4 for “Rental Runaround.”

• Arts and Culture/History for “The Power of a Picture” (a profile of Kim Phuc, who as a child was photographed in 1972 fleeing from a napalm attack on her village in Vietnam) as reporter with MacIntyre as producer. The award went to Pat Harvey (anchor) and Velia La Garda (producer) of CBS2/KCAL9 for “Eye on Our Community: The L.A. Riots — 20 Years Later.”

Last year, Ono was nominated in six categories and won in three. One award was for “Witness: American Heroes,” a documentary about the Nisei soldiers of the 100th Infantry Battalion/442nd Regimental Combat Team.

Denise Dador, host of ABC7 Eyewitness News’ “Healthy Living” segment, and her producers won in the Children/Youth Programming category for “Imagine.”

Other winners include Daisy Lin of NBC4, Outstanding Writer-News; and Angel Kim of KTLA5, one of the producers of “Concussions: The Invisible Injury,” Medical News Story-Multi-part Report.

KTTV/Fox 11’s report “The Courage of Hana Hwang,” a profile of a 13-year-old diagnosed with progeria, which causes rapid aging, won for Medical News Story-Single Report (Gerri Shaftel Constant, producer; Julio Duran, camera; Mark Tickell, editor).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *