Dedication of the MIS Historic Learning Center in 2013. (J.K. YAMAMOTO/Rafu Shimpo)
Dedication of the MIS Historic Learning Center in 2013. (J.K. YAMAMOTO/Rafu Shimpo)

SAN FRANCISCO — The National Japanese American Historical Society will hold its annual awards tribute on Sunday, May 3, at the Military Intelligence Service Historic Learning Center, 640 Old Mason St. in Crissy Field, Presidio of San Francisco.

This year’s theme is “Journeys: Paving Our Way Home.”

Registration starts at 3 p.m., the awards program at 4 p.m., and a reception at 5 p.m., featuring tapas-style buffet, family genealogy talks, and photo booths. A raffle will be held.

Free shuttle service is available from Japantown Peace Plaza, Post and Buchanan streets in San Francisco. Guests will receive $6 parking validation for the Japan Center Garage.

Free parking is available behind the Sports Basement (not in main parking lot). Street parking is $1.20 an hour.

“Join us at our new MIS Historic Learning Center, Building 640, set in the beautiful National Park Service’s Presidio of San Francisco,” event organizers said. “With breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset, savor the tastings of La Mar Cebicheria Peruana’s cuisine and explore the museum’s exhibits.

“In the course of historical events, each generation must undergo its journey of trials and tribulations, bearing witness to unfathomable strife. We honor the extraordinary individuals who, through their courage and sacrifice, paved the way for many to return home, restored justice, and gave us hope for the future. Honor our post-war legacy of peace, justice, and reconciliation.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Wayne Merrill Collins, Esq. and his legal support staff for handling the cases of 5,000 Japanese Americans seeking to regain the U.S. citizenship they had renounced during the war. The staff includes Eiko Aoki, Florence Dobashi, Tetsujiro “Tex” Nakamura, Esq., Sam Nao, Chiyo Wada, and Yo Handa Yasuda. Recognized posthumously will be Reiko Ouchida Nao, Doris Phippen and Jean Kajikawa Sakai.

The Peace Award will go to atomic bomb survivors Seiko Fujimoto, Jack Dairiki and Rev. Takashi Tanemori.

The WWII Service Recognition will go to Frank Higashi and Frank Masuoka, Military Intelligence Service veterans who served in Okinawa.

Order tickets via Eventbrite, For more information, call (415) 921-5007 or visit

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *