One of the four awards given to “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” was for this chase sequence. (Disney/Lucasfilm)

BEVERLY HILLS — “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” received four awards, including best visual effects in a feature film, at the 14th annual Visual Effects Society Awards on Feb. 2 at The Beverly Hilton.

The other nominees for best visual effects in a feature film were “Furious 7,” “San Andreas,” “Mad Max: Fury Road” and “The Martian.”

Susumu Yukihiro was part of the “Star Wars” team that won the award for outstanding virtual cinematography in a photoreal feature for the scene in which the Millennium Falcon is pursued by enemy fighters through a graveyard of imperial ships. Also nominated: “Ant-Man,” “Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation,” “The Walk.”

Bryan Hirota was part of the “In the Heart of the Sea” team nominated for outstanding visual effects in a photoreal feature. The award went to “The Revenant.” Also nominated: “Bridge of Spies,” “The Walk,” “Everest.”

Yuta Shimizu was part of the team nominated in the outstanding created environment in a photoreal feature category for the jungle chase scene in “Jurassic World.” The award went to “Star Wars.” Also nominated: “The Walk,” “Ant-Man,” “Tomorrowland.”

Sho Hasegawa was part of the “Halo 5: The Hunt Begins” team nominated for outstanding effects simulations in an episode, commercial or real-time project. The award went to “Game of Thrones: Hardhome.” Also nominated: “SSE: Pier,” “Lipton: The Revolution in Tea.”

“The Revenant” won for best supporting visual effects in a feature film. The other nominees were “In the Heart of the Sea,” “Bridge of Spies,” “The Walk” and “Everest.”

HBO’s “Game of Thrones” won for outstanding visual effects in a television episode, beating out “Nezlamna,” “Childhood’s End,” “Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell” and “The Strain.”

“The Martian” director Ridley Scott received the Lifetime Achievement Award, while conceptual artist Syd Mead received the Visionary Award.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *